My book review of 'Amari and the Night Brothers' by BB Alston

Amari and the Night Brothers

by BB Alston
Recommended age: 9+
Amari and the Night Brothers
by BB Alston

This book was causing a stir long before it was published and has already been optioned as a movie. It's funny, fast paced and clever and likely to appeal to fans of Percy Jackson, Nevermoor, Harry Potter and Men in Black!

It also explores themes of friendship, loyalty and resourcefulness and challenges privilege, prejudice and bullying for readers aged 9+.

Amari is 12. She lives in low income housing with her hard-working mum and attends an elite school on a scholarship. But when her brother Quinton goes missing, Amari is subjected to bullying while also being bewildered by the lack of action from the police.

Then Amari receives a knock on the door from a delivery man who tells her about a package already waiting for her in her wardrobe. Inside she discovers a message from her brother, and the adventure begins.

Amari is invited to join the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, a world of mermaids, aliens and magicians. It takes some getting used to, not least because with each trainee being awarded a special talent, Amari receives an illegal skill, alienating her from her peers. Then, when an evil magician poses a threat, Amari finds herself without friends, yet still determined to find out what happened to Quinton.

It is funny and imaginative, wry, clever and gripping!

Review date: February 2021
Publication date: 21st January 2021